Unsubscribe

I’ve realized that one of the easiest ways to minimize online shopping & browsing is simply by just not having time. I know, I know. I’m not Langdon solving the Da Vinci code, this isn’t any news. It’s just that I’m seeing now that it actually works and I’m not regretting the things I “miss out” on buying. Because that’s how I used to think. I would flag every 20% off $100-email I recieved in my inbox because WOW I HAVE TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THAT. And I am subscribed to aloooooot of newsletters. So on this absolute turd of a day, I am feeling this spark of hope. I babysit every week and these babysitting nights used to be spent browsing various clothing sites after the kids are down, especially when the day has been turdy like this one and I would need some comfort. But guess what? I don’t have time. I have other things I need to get done. Browsing isn’t as top dog of a priority in my mind as it used to be. I don’t want to be too cocky since I might very well relapse but it’s such a satisfying feeling that I’m not even interested in checking. And I’m the type of girl who will sit up until 11.59pm because the discount code expires at midnight and go back and forth over SHOULD I GET THOSE SHOES? NO I’LL NEVER WEAR THEM BUT OH THEN AGAIN THEY WOULD BE NICE TO HOLD OR JUST LOOK GOOD ON MY DRESSER OH MY GOD THERE’S ONLY A FEW MINUTES LEFT AND 2 PAIRS LEFT IN STOCK JUST GET THEM SO YOU CAN GO TO SLEEP YOU’LL FORCE YOURSELF TO WEAR THEM. The next day Cassandra the goldfish would come across another sale event to stress over. It’s neverending, because that’s how it’s built up to be. We shall constantly be alert for the next deal-of-a-lifetime. Over and over.

 I’m not going to buy my 67th pair of shoes and all of a sudden say “there. I’m content. I’m done forever”. It’s time to just stop wanting everything, because I will never get everything I want (that I THINK I want, that is). 

Now that I have my spare time, rather than browsing I’m going to be unsubscribing. From all the pages I no longer visit, and that I no longer want to waste my time and money on. Odds are I won’t even miss most of them.  

Leave a Reply

