Facing my inner shopaholic

So I’ve been thinking. I want to have less possessions. I have that thought in the back of my mind every single day. But at the same time I am a “recovering” shopaholic. I mean a pretty major one. As in I’ve been buying all the clothes, shoes & beauty products I want for the past 5-ish years. Therefore, I have no savings. Because I’ve had no limits. So as much as I want to get rid of things, I want to be smart about it. Reading about minimalism and how it makes everybody’s lives better makes me want to shuffle all of my stuff to goodwill and hit the road with just a backpack, but I feel like that would be letting myself off easy, and as usual, running away from my problems. I’m not good at seeing things through and dealing with them. So I feel like I need to actually go through the process of selling stuff(ofc I won’t be able to sell all of it) in order to learn better. I’ve given loads of stuff away over the years to friends & family & charities but then I just start the buying all over again. I think I need to sell individual items in order to actually mentally process what’s going on. I’ve half heartedly tried selling stuff before but it’s always felt like too much of an effort, and then I just end up stressed so I give it all away instead and basically forget about it all. So I personally feel that this is an area I have to push myself to face. It’s easy to give things away. But in order to stop myself from shopping I need to make it more of a struggle to get rid of things

I just finished reading The More Of Less by Joshua Becker and he recommends donating most stuff rather than trying to do garage sales etc since it usually doesn’t pay off tremendously anyway. And I totally get that. But my point in all of this is that I need to learn to take action and not be lazy. I live by “pick your battles” to the point that I just choose to avoid them all. And this is a battle I have to face in order to choke the source of the problem.

xx cat

3 thoughts on “Facing my inner shopaholic

  1. Play the #minsgame. It creates rapid momentum and helps with processing all the physical clutter. Ultimately it causes a noticeable shift in how you look at all your stuff. In a nutshell, you get rid of one item on Day 1, two items on Day 2, and so on, until, by month’s end, you’ve gotten rid of about 495 items… in a month.

    Also, if you really want to see your stuff go to good use, see if there is a refugee center in your area. Your items can help someone start a new life. Think pots, pans, etc. Also, a legit homeless shelter.

    Like

  2. I don’t often leave comments trying to get people to read my posts, but the last couple I have written deal with how to make better shopping decisions. Maybe what you need is some structure when you go shopping! I have a bunch of rules that basically rule out 95% of what I see. This helps me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

