Bye bye buying (clothes)

Shortly after I decided that I needed to dramatically decrease the amount of stuff I have, I ordered two books on minimalism off amazon:The more of less by Joshua Becker & The life-changing magic of tidying up by Marie Kondo. I’ve read about half of each book this far (that’s how excited I am about this, that I can’t wait until I finish one before I start the other). 

I like how they have such different methods. I started Magic of Tidying first and realized pretty early that it was at the moment a bit too extreme for me. I’ll definately want to try it out more in 2017 but for now I need to hold on to clothes I need for work that I know I’ll be able to throw out when I finish in january. 

So to start it all off I’m leaning more toward Becker’s milder approach. 

Like I mentioned in the previous post I have now revoked my right to buy clothes. The “easier” part of this is stopping myself from buying clearence dresses at Forever 21 or doing H&M hauls when they send me 20% off coupons. I can see myself sticking to that challenge for a year. 

The only exception I’m making for myself is if I were to go to the Treasure Island Flea Market here in SF and find a washed out Rolling Stones t-shirt for $5:))))) 

But there is nothing I really feel like I’m missing(in the NEED departement, the WANT one is dangerous territory we shouldn’t get into). I have enough pants, shirts, jackets, underwear & socks. More than enough. The only area where I have nothing wearable is swimwear but I see that more as a good excuse to not have to wear a bathing suit:)

xx cat

Leave a Reply

